And now for something completely different…

This has nothing to do with autism, or narcolepsy – or even spiders. It’s just one of those things that make me go “hmmmm…”

The other day I was working on troubleshooting a driver issue on a computer I was prepping, and I was suddenly seized by an irresistible urge for junk food from the vending machine. Specifically, peanut M&Ms. I could picture them in my head – hell, I could almost taste them. This was unusual, because I generally avoid eating junk and it’s been months since I went anywhere near the vending machine. Besides, I never carry cash.

Except then I remembered that I did have a couple of dollar bills left over from the road trip. But then I also remembered that the vending machine didn’t actually have M&Ms, just the little gumball-type machine, and I definitely had no change. Still, now that the idea was in my head and the dollar bill was burning a hole in my pocket, I could at least go see what else was there.

As I stood up and reached for my wallet in my back pocket to make sure I wasn’t mistaken about the dollar bill, my co-worker got up from his desk and passed me headed out to the hallway. I figured he was off to the restroom and gave him a head start so that I wouldn’t be crowding out the door behind him. Then, dollar bill in hand, I trekked out to the vending machine.

Coming around the corner, I almost collided with the same co-worker, who was on his way back from the machine – with a packet of peanut M&Ms (apparently the machine has them now) clutched in his hand! So what happened? Did he read my thoughts? Did I read his? Did some giant cosmic wave of ‘must have M&Ms’ drift through the building?

Anyway, I thought it was interesting and funny, and might be a nice break from the more serious stuff I’ve been posting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Hitting the Trifecta

Politics, self-improvement, life, current events, humor, words, punctuation, and spaces.

Chronically Siobhan

Chronic illness, crafting and cake.

My Autistic Dance

Dance with me

Who Loves Kitty

The odd, eccentric, vivid, random thoughts of an Aspie Riot Nrrrd. Not for the faint of heart or the touchy of mind. You've been warned.

Nicola Griffith

English-American in Seattle. Novelist.

askpergers

Basicly just autism talk and not a lot more.

positively potsy

a blog about living with PoTS; the good, the bad and the dizzy...

ribbonrx

Raising Awareness About Life

Dream Walden

Awesomely weird, Blessedly alone

Aspie and Proud

I can't dance but I sure can stim.

Reflections Of A Bear

Just a bear thinking about life with chronic illness...

Actually Autistic Blogs List

A list of blogs by Autistic adults

Holistic Myalgic Encephalomyelitis

POTS&CIRS Research & commentary, ongoing

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Little Wild Streak

immersed in nature

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Crazy-NOS

This is a Kiracracy

The Tip of My Asperger's

Living Stoic on the Autism Spectrum

