Blogging in my head

There are so many things I want to say here, stories to tell, memories from childhood that make so much more sense re-framed through the lens of my Asperger’s. Funny things, sad things, and just plain weird stuff. 

Ideas come to me all the time, as I drive to work, or am laying in bed trying to sleep, or sometimes while doing mundane chores… I am either writing blog posts in my head or composing things I’d like to paint. 

And I think “I’m going to go home and write this all down!”  But then after eight or more hours of stressful work (which more often than not often followed a bad night’s sleep)  and taking care of dinner for humans and pets, doing the things that need to be done around the house – usually in a state of stumbling exhaustion – and that’s it. I’m done. The bright shiny words and images that danced in my head have long since faded and so has the last of my energy. I sit in front of the TV like a zombie or scroll mindlessly on my phone for an hour or so and then I shamble off to bed. 

Lather, rinse, repeat. 

I used to fill every waking moment with things I loved – hiking, writing, painting, working on projects and crafts. Now I hoard my energy to get through my work week; that’s what pays the bills so it gets what little I have to give.  

Whatever is going on with my health is getting worse, but I am so done with doctors. I’ve gone round and round for a decade now and the only real breakthrough was my Asperger’s diagnosis, which I sought on my own. It feels like my world is just shrinking smaller and smaller as I am able to do less and less. I’m just so bloody tired. 

4 thoughts on “Blogging in my head

Add yours

  1. “I used to fill every waking moment with things I loved – hiking, writing, painting, working on projects and crafts. Now I hoard my energy to get through my work week; that’s what pays the bills so it gets what little I have to give.”

    Yes!! This!! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ. Sometimes I wonder where my life went, or at least my lust for it πŸ’œ

    Starting with the title, I saw so many elements of myself in this whole post. Thank you so much for writing this ❀️

    Cheers! ~The Silent Wave/Laina 🌟🌟

    Like

      1. (Selfishly speaking,) I’m so glad you didn’t 😊. I admire your honesty and forthrightness. Your words really do resonate, and I find comfort in them. You definitely have a good way with them πŸ’–

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I blog so many more things in my head, too. Even when I have time, I often don’t have the right kind of energy for writing after I’ve had a busy day (or week). So this definitely resonated – but I hope you find something that helps with the health issues. It sucks when you don’t know what’s going on and there isn’t anyone you think could help anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Hitting the Trifecta

Politics, self-improvement, life, current events, humor, words, punctuation, and spaces.

Chronically Siobhan

Chronic illness, crafting and cake.

My Autistic Dance

Dance with me

Who Loves Kitty

The odd, eccentric, vivid, random thoughts of an Aspie Riot Nrrrd. Not for the faint of heart or the touchy of mind. You've been warned.

Nicola Griffith

English-American in Seattle. Novelist.

askpergers

Basicly just autism talk and not a lot more.

positively potsy

a blog about living with PoTS; the good, the bad and the dizzy...

ribbonrx

Raising Awareness About Life

Dream Walden

Awesomely weird, Blessedly alone

Aspie and Proud

I can't dance but I sure can stim.

Reflections Of A Bear

Just a bear thinking about life with chronic illness...

Actually Autistic Blogs List

A list of blogs by Autistic adults

Holistic Myalgic Encephalomyelitis

POTS&CIRS Research & commentary, ongoing

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Little Wild Streak

immersed in nature

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Crazy-NOS

This is a Kiracracy

The Tip of My Asperger's

Living Stoic on the Autism Spectrum

