Boom boom out go the lights

So when I left off my epic novel of a post about the cardiology visit, I was determined to prove to the doctor that I am actually experiencing not just orthostatic hypotension, but also orthostatic tachycardia, by way of a ‘poor man’s tilt table test’ experiment I was going to carry out with my blood pressure cuff and a spreadsheet. That experiment came to an almost literal crashing halt this morning. I guess there’s a reason the instructions said not to do that alone.

The premise was as follows: take a baseline blood pressure and pulse reading after laying down for at least fifteen minutes, then stand up and retake it every minute for three to five minutes, without walking around or even shifting feet in between readings. Some versions said ten minutes, but the spike happens pretty fast usually so I figured five would be good enough.

It was a miserable experience each time. I’ve been getting dizzy on standing for quite a while now, but I can usually cope with it by staying in motion.  Standing perfectly still was a completely different experience, ranging from mildly uncomfortable to downright distressing. I got three sets of data Friday, four on Saturday, and I was going to do one more day today and then call it quits. The results were interesting: usually my systolic pressure tanked and my pulse shot up, but sometimes just one or the other, and Friday at bedtime, neither one fluctuated much but my blood pressure was at the bottom end of normal for all six readings.

Last night I had a really, really crappy night’s sleep – worse than usual, and usual is often pretty bad. That probably made the issue worse than it has been for the other times. I took the baseline reading and it was pretty average for my ‘supine’ reading, then I got up and began the standing readings. I started off dizzy and uncomfortable right from the beginning, and it got quite a bit worse with each reading. Finally there was just one left…

The counter got to a minute and I hit the button to start the reading. I realized I was really, really nauseous and my head felt weird. “Last one,” I told myself, “just suck it up and you’ll be done in a minute.” It got worse. I thought I might actually throw up, and forcing myself to stand still was torturous. I realized that the fan in the room was starting to sound weird, and that everything was going all… sepia? Sepia with glitter. Not like the ‘shooting stars’ I’ve seen if I blow my nose real hard, or that time my blood pressure went up so high from the sodium oxybate, no this was really weird, like tiny sparkles. I almost would have been fascinated by it, except that I felt so bloody nauseous and everything was getting dimmer and dimmer and now the periphery of my vision was black, like I was looking at the sepia glittery room through a tunnel and suddenly it clicked: HOLY SHIT THIS MUST BE WHAT FAINTING FEELS LIKE!

I am stubborn, and even at that moment I was trying to talk myself into letting the reading finish, but then I realized the cuff had stopped making noise and had an error, so whatever was making me pass out had messed up the reading anyway. Simultaneously, I realized that this was actually serious, because if I blacked out I had no idea if I’d crumple, or topple like a felled tree, or where I’d land. What if I hit my head on the bookcase or came down twisty and broke an arm? My partner might not find me for hours, maybe she’d assume I’d decided to sleep in.  Just before everything went all the way black, I managed to shamble backwards and launch myself back onto the bed, and once I was laying down again I came back around almost immediately.

May I never, ever experience that feeling again! Almost fainting was truly horrible, and in retrospect I was stupid to play around with that test without having someone nearby to look out for me in case things went wrong. Tomorrow I’ll transcribe all my chicken-scratch notes a little more legibly and scan everything for the doctor.

 

One thought on “Boom boom out go the lights

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Hitting the Trifecta

Politics, self-improvement, life, current events, humor, words, punctuation, and spaces.

Chronically Siobhan

Chronic illness, crafting and cake.

My Autistic Dance

Dance with me

Who Loves Kitty

The odd, eccentric, vivid, random thoughts of an Aspie Riot Nrrrd. Not for the faint of heart or the touchy of mind. You've been warned.

Nicola Griffith

English-American in Seattle. Novelist.

askpergers

Basicly just autism talk and not a lot more.

positively potsy

a blog about living with PoTS; the good, the bad and the dizzy...

ribbonrx

Raising Awareness About Life

Dream Walden

Awesomely weird, Blessedly alone

Aspie and Proud

I can't dance but I sure can stim.

Reflections Of A Bear

Just a bear thinking about life with chronic illness...

Actually Autistic Blogs List

A list of blogs by Autistic adults

Holistic Myalgic Encephalomyelitis

POTS&CIRS Research & commentary, ongoing

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Little Wild Streak

immersed in nature

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Crazy-NOS

This is a Kiracracy

The Tip of My Asperger's

Living Stoic on the Autism Spectrum

