Down a rabbit hole

Featured Image: A soggy sacrificial seahorse, nudged onto the laptop by Eater-of-Things – who was trying to get my attention away from the screen I’d been glued to for hours.

This morning, in spite of my looking forward to sleeping in, I was up at five. My first impulse was to capitalize on that early start, and I tried to, but it’s now after eleven and I’ve been sitting futzing around with the theme on this blog for hours. This is what happens when I get on the computer, and why I tend to avoid doing so, a lot of the time: I fall down rabbit holes.

It started innocently enough… I realized about a week or so ago that all of those carefully chosen ‘featured images’ on my posts don’t actually show on the posts, only on the main page. Apparently some themes give you the option of where to show them, but the one I was using did not, so I had resolved to fix that as soon as I had a bit of time to research it.

This was not as easy as it seemed.  Apparently I can have featured images on posts, header and layout control, color choices, and a layout I like, but not all of those things at once in any free theme I can find. This is the price I am ‘paying’ for the free hosting, but if I move the blog to my self-hosted space then I lose my anonymity, and I can’t afford to pony up for a premium WordPress.com hosted account.

Determined to have ‘all of the things’ in one theme, I kept trying and customizing different ones, over and over. I was finally snapped out of this loop by a very sorrowful Eater-of-Things, who wanted a lap and presented a well-chewed and rather damp squeak toy as payment.

I have created (for now) an inelegant hack for the missing navigation on the main page, I am going to clean the slobber off my keyboard, shut down the computer, and spend the rest of what looks to be a beautiful day with the dogs.

One thought on “Down a rabbit hole

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

askpergers

Basicly just autism talk and not a lot more.

positively potsy

a blog about living with PoTS; the good, the bad and the dizzy...

ribbonrx

Raising Awareness About Life

Dream Walden

Awesomely weird, Blessedly alone

Aspie and Proud

I can't dance but I sure can stim.

Reflections Of A Bear

Just a bear thinking about life with chronic illness...

Actually Autistic Blogs List

A list of blogs by Autistic adults

Holistic Myalgic Encephalomyelitis

POTS&CIRS Research & commentary, ongoing

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Little Wild Streak

immersed in nature

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Crazy-NOS

This is a Kiracracy

The Tip of My Asperger's

Living Stoic on the Autism Spectrum

Eternal Haunted Summer

pagan songs & tales

Aspie Under Your Radar

Tales of consternation and wonder from the autism spectrum

Living With Insects Blog

Exploring the intersections of people and insects

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Erin Human

Writing, Cartooning & Neurodiversity Designs

