POTS electrolyte drink recipe ‘aspi-fied’

So I’ve been managing the tachycardia a bit better, insofar as I’ve not had it go over about 145 or so and I’ve not had any more fainting episodes, but it’s still not great. I’m including a few highlights from the last week or two at the bottom of this post, for anyone who isn’t familiar with what POTS looks like in action. I should also qualify that with stating that for some people, it is much, much more extreme than this. It almost makes it worse, dealing with this, because I feel like crap and then I feel guilty for feeling sorry for myself about feeling bad because I know it isn’t nearly as bad as it could be. Does that make sense?

Anyway, one of the things that is supposed to help is to keep blood volume up by increasing salt and water consumption. That was what the Florinef was supposed to help with, but it just made me insanely thirsty and then the water I drank ran right through me. A lot of people on the dysautonomia and POTS groups online swear by electrolyte drinks, but most of the ones out there are full of artificial ingredients as well as sugar – or worse, sugar substitutes. There are a few professional products with better ingredients, but those seem to be insanely expensive.

Someone posted a recipe for a homemade electrolyte drink for POTS that looked really, really good to me, except there is no way I am up to that much prep work a lot of the time, and also, quality organic citrus fruit is hard to come by and expensive. If it relies on me juicing, peeling, mincing, and simmering things, chances are it’s not going to happen, at least not in the morning when I am already trying to make coffee and a smoothie and feed nine animals. So I looked at the recipe and thought, “how can I hack this?”

Here is what I came up with. it takes less than five minutes to prepare and I have been drinking it for the past week or so, consuming 1-2 quarts of it during the day: I think it has helped me not hit those really debilitating tachycardia highs and I spend somewhat less time running to the bathroom…at least in the afternoon, anyway; I still can’t seem to keep my morning cup of coffee and smoothie from flushing straight through.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp organic lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp organic lemon juice
  • 2 ounces, roughly, of not-from concentrate organic orange juice
  • 1 Tbsp ginger juice
  • 1/2 Tsp himalayan pink sea salt
  • 1/2 Tsp baking soda
  • 32 oz filtered water

Directions:

Add all of the juices to a 32 oz. container – a Nalgene water bottle is perfect for this – and then fill the container with water and add the salt and baking soda. Leave at least an inch of headspace at the top of the container as the baking soda will react with the acids in the juices and fizz up a bit.

Notes:

I use Santa Cruz bottled lemon and lime juices, and two tablespoons are equivalent to the juice from a whole lemon or lime, according to the bottle. A Google search gave me the amount of orange juice that would come out of an average sized orange, and the Ginger People bottled ginger juice label claims a tablespoon of the juice is the same as a tablespoon of minced ginger.

I left out the sweetener because I don’t like sweet drinks, and it isn’t really needed. I like the taste of this drink a lot but most people would probably want to add a bit of honey or agave. It tastes like a margarita to me – without horrible side effects the tequila would cause me (sadly, dysautonomia has made drinking any sort of alcohol problematic for me) and I’ve been experimenting with adding other things for variety, like a bit of cayenne pepper.

Anyway, I thought I’d share this for anyone looking for an easy to make electrolyte drink.

 

This was me sitting at my desk, working on a computer update. Really, my job is not generally that exciting and I certainly wasn’t doing anything taxing at that moment.
PSX_20170727_144136
I started measuring here because I was already feeling a bit jittery just sitting down. Eighty is already a bit high of a resting rate for me, but this is what happened when I stood up. I didn’t even take a step, just stood there for a couple of minutes.

 

 

 

Up goes the heart rate, down goes the blood pressure.

 

 

This is technically at the bottom edge of normal, but it’s low for me and made me feel like crap.

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

"What on earth just happened?"

Trying to work out the world. Not always successfully.

yarn and pencil

a creative life on the spectrum

SpiderMentor

a journal about spiders found around Western PA

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Queerly Autistic

Queerness. Autism. Dogs. All the good stuff.

Synthetic Genetic Shakespeares

Examining the implications of science and technology

The Dreaming Panda

PANS + Lyme: Recovery and 8 Years of Misdiagnoses

spiderbytes

This is a blog about spiders.

Chronically Siobhan

Where disability politics, feminism and craft collide.

My Autistic Dance

Dance with me

Who Loves Kitty

The odd, eccentric, vivid, random thoughts of an Aspie Riot Nrrrd. Not for the faint of heart or the touchy of mind. You've been warned. ;)

Nicola Griffith

English-American in Seattle. Novelist.

askpergers

Basicly just autism talk and not a lot more.

positively potsy

a blog about living with PoTS; the good, the bad and the dizzy...

Dream Walden

Awesomely weird, Blessedly alone

Aspie and Proud

I can't dance but I sure can stim.

